Are kraft jet-puffed marshmallows made with beef or pork derived gelatin?

April 17th, 2010

my friend can’t eat pork (needs to be Halal) and i made him a rice krispy treat. can he devour it?

Some Muslims will eat gelatin and some will not. Its one of those controversial topics that no one agrees on. You have to call the company that made the marshmallows and ask them because each company has different gelatin sources.

3 Responses

  1. 412envy Says:

    Some Muslims will eat gelatin and some will not. Its one of those controversial topics that no one agrees on. You have to call the company that made the marshmallows and ask them because each company has different gelatin sources.
    References :

  2. Patti Says:

    Look on the package of marshmallows. If there is no U with a circle around it or K symbol, that means it’s not Kosher and very well could contain gelatin made from pork. Would be mean to serve it to him. The Kosher marshmallows are generally more expensive.
    References :

  3. RINNA Says:

    It depends on how strict he is. Jews also can’t eat pork, but since the way that gelatin is made totally obliterates the original ingredients, it has been decided that most gelatin (including Kraft I believe) is kosher (which is similar to halal). I don’t know if there have been similar rulings for halal, but also, at least by the U.S. government, gelatin is not considered a meat product.
    References :

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Posted by admin and filed under Halal Marshmallows | 3 Comments »

|