Is kosher gelatin halal?

April 1st, 2010

i eat this non fat yoghurt from yoplait. yesterday i checked its ingredients, and it has kosher gelatin..since i am a Muslim, could somebody please tell me is it ok for me to eat or not? is it halal?

I would re-post this in the "Ramadan" section to get more answers…

I don’t know enough about halal to answer your question, but I keep strictly kosher and it’s not true that religious Jews don’t care about the origins of our food. If it says kosher, it means no pork products, and no non-kosher-slaughtered animal products, period. Most kosher gelatin is made from carageenan, which is seaweed, or else from fish. It is very rare that kosher gelatin is made from meat, and when it is, it would say so clearly on the label, because kosher meat is held to different standards. In addition, kosher yogurt is never made with meat products, as Jews are not allowed to mix meat with dairy.

So as far as what I *do know about halal goes, kosher gelatin will never contain non-Halal ingredients. Whether that makes it okay to eat is up to your imam – I always thought that so long as you pronounce a blessing over it in Allah’s name, it can be acceptable as halal if no equivalent is available – but you would have to check to be certain.

4 Responses

  1. One lala Says:

    I believe it is, gelatin is usually made from fish bones(sometimes meat), I don’t know of any animals that Jews can eat and Muslims can’t, also Kosher is more strict than Halal, I see no reason why it wouldn’t be Halal but I’m not a Muslim..I guess the guy below me knows a little more.
    References :

  2. Mais Says:

    Allah knows best but I found this:

    Gelatin is considered Kosher by many Jews regardless of its source of origin. If the gelatin is prepared from non-zabiha, Muslims consider it haram (prohibited). Hence foods items such as marshmallows, yogurt, etc., showing kosher symbols are not always halal.

    http://www.soundvision.com/info/halalhealthy/halal.kosher.asp

    Another site also says it might not be halal

    http://www.muslimconsumergroup.com/General.do?menu=Company&eventAction=criteria

    References :

  3. upyr1 Says:

    Some Muslim scholars say it is halal since your dietary laws are more lenitint then Jewish ones.
    References :

  4. Michelle R Says:

    I would re-post this in the "Ramadan" section to get more answers…

    I don’t know enough about halal to answer your question, but I keep strictly kosher and it’s not true that religious Jews don’t care about the origins of our food. If it says kosher, it means no pork products, and no non-kosher-slaughtered animal products, period. Most kosher gelatin is made from carageenan, which is seaweed, or else from fish. It is very rare that kosher gelatin is made from meat, and when it is, it would say so clearly on the label, because kosher meat is held to different standards. In addition, kosher yogurt is never made with meat products, as Jews are not allowed to mix meat with dairy.

    So as far as what I *do know about halal goes, kosher gelatin will never contain non-halal ingredients. Whether that makes it okay to eat is up to your imam – I always thought that so long as you pronounce a blessing over it in Allah’s name, it can be acceptable as halal if no equivalent is available – but you would have to check to be certain.

    References :

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Posted by admin and filed under Halal Gelatin | 4 Comments »

|